REGENERATIVE RELIQUARY

Bringing Bones to Life

Eröffnung: 

Friday, 13. May 2022 - 17:00

Laufzeit: 

13/05/2022 to 29/07/2022
amy-karle_regenerative-reliquary

By harnessing the intelligence of human stem cells, Amy Karle created Regenerative Reliquary, a bio-printed scaffold in the shape of a human hand printed in a biodegradable pegda hydrogel that dissolves over time. The sculpture is installed in a bioreactor with the intention that human mesenchymal stem cells (hMSCs from an adult donor) seeded onto this design will eventually grow into tissue and mineralize into bone along this scaffold.

 

Inspired by generative and parametric design in the body, this work looks at how cells articulate into different forms - what causes a cell to become a beating heart, skin, or bone - in a naturally occurring "additive manufacturing" that occurs through a multiplier effect. "Regenerative Reliquary" also focuses on the dynamic organ and tissue in our bodies that is constantly remodeling and changing shape to adapt to the daily forces that act upon it: bone.

Bone is the structure and foundation that supports our bodies. It appears to be solid, but bone is very much alive and constantly changing. Bones are both a material of life and a material that remains after death; historically they are used to make tools, accessories, art and objects. Throughout history, bones have been given spiritual, macabre, and even miraculous significance. Bones were kept in reliquaries and served as memorials, signposts, protectors, objects of fear, superstition and worship.

 

Following the traditional presentation of relics in their reliquaries, this work is a finely detailed skeletal sculpture enclosed in a glass bioreactor. Rather than perpetuating the lifeless remains left behind after death as a memorial to the life that was once there, Regenerative Reliquary presents the opposite, showing the possibility of life from a lifeless object.

Housed in a mechanical womb made of scientific equipment, the design resembling the human hand appears to glow from within, illuminated from within and reflected into the surrounding darkness. The concept of the human hand was chosen because this part of the human skeleton is one of the few structures that is instantly recognizable as uniquely human. The ornate aesthetic was derived from functional design requirements: The overall lattice was created for biomimetic osseointegration; at the microscopic level, the scaffold mimics the trabecular structure of bone, the shape that prompts stem cells to become bone cells. The sculpture's distinct yellow color was necessary to 3D print it in such detail in a biodegradable, biocompatible material. Although this specific sculpture is intended to live outside the body, the design suggests that future versions could potentially be implanted and integrated into existing biological functions.

  • ©esc-medien-kunst-labor_PERFECT BODY_Amy Karle_Regenerative Reliquary_Foto:Martin-Gross_1
  • ©esc-medien-kunst-labor_PERFECT BODY_Amy Karle_Regenerative Reliquary_Foto:Martin-Gross_2
  • ©esc-medien-kunst-labor_PERFECT BODY_Amy Karle_Regenerative Reliquary_Foto:Martin-Gross_3

Kooperationen/Team: 

Bringing Bones to Life (video on Regenerative Reliquary)
 

Artist: Amy Karle
 

Film by: Charlie Nordstrom
Assistant Editor: Blue Bergen

 

In this film in order of appearance:
Amy Karle
Chris Venter
Brian Adzima
John Vericella

Music:
"Eileen" by Lee Rosevere
"Ones Left Behind" by Ketsa
"See Through Walls" by Anitek

Available on Free Music Archive - freemusicarchive.org

Under CC by license - Attribution Noncommercial 4.0 International
 

This project was made possible with the generous support of Autodesk, Autodesk's Pier 9 Artist in Residence Program, The California Academy of Sciences, Exploratorium: The Museum of Science, Art and Human Perception, and The Bone Room.

REGENERATIVE RELIQUARY

Bringing Bones to Life

Eröffnung: 

Freitag, 13. Mai 2022 - 17:00

Laufzeit: 

13/05/2022 bis 29/07/2022
amy-karle_regenerative-reliquary

Indem Amy Karle die Intelligenz menschlicher Stammzellen nutzte, schuf sie Regenerative Reliquary, ein biologisch gedrucktes Gerüst in Form einer menschlichen Hand, das in einem biologisch abbaubaren Pegda-Hydrogel gedruckt wurde, das sich mit der Zeit auflöst. Die Skulptur ist in einem Bioreaktor installiert, mit der Absicht, dass menschliche mesenchymale Stammzellen (hMSCs von einem erwachsenen Spender), die auf dieses Design gesät wurden, schließlich zu Gewebe heranwachsen und sich entlang dieses Gerüsts zu Knochen mineralisieren.

 

Inspiriert durch das generative und parametrische Design im Körper, betrachtet diese Arbeit, wie sich Zellen in verschiedene Formen artikulieren - was eine Zelle dazu bringt, ein schlagendes Herz, Haut oder Knochen zu werden - in einer natürlich vorkommenden "additiven Fertigung", die durch einen Multiplikatoreffekt entsteht. "Regenerative Reliquary" konzentriert sich außerdem auf das dynamische Organ und Gewebe in unserem Körper, das sich ständig umbaut und seine Form verändert, um sich den täglichen Kräften anzupassen, die auf es einwirken: der Knochen.

Der Knochen ist die Struktur und das Fundament, das unseren Körper stützt. Er scheint fest zu sein, aber der Knochen ist sehr lebendig und verändert sich ständig. Knochen sind sowohl ein Material des Lebens als auch ein Material, das nach dem Tod zurückbleibt; historisch gesehen werden sie zur Herstellung von Werkzeugen, Accessoires, Kunst und Gegenständen verwendet. Im Laufe der Geschichte wurde den Knochen eine spirituelle, makabre und sogar wundersame Bedeutung beigemessen. Knochen wurden in Reliquienbehältern aufbewahrt und dienten als Mahnmal, Wegweiser, Schutz, Objekte der Angst, des Aberglaubens und der Verehrung.

 

In Anlehnung an die traditionelle Präsentation von Reliquien in ihren Reliquienbehältern ist diese Arbeit eine fein detaillierte Skelettskulptur, die in einem gläsernen Bioreaktor eingeschlossen ist. Anstatt die leblosen Überreste, die nach dem Tod zurückbleiben, als Mahnmal für das Leben, das einst da war, zu verewigen, präsentiert Regenerative Reliquary das Gegenteil und zeigt die Möglichkeit von Leben aus einem leblosen Objekt.

Untergebracht in einer mechanischen Gebärmutter aus wissenschaftlicher Ausrüstung, scheint das der menschlichen Hand ähnliche Design von innen zu leuchten, beleuchtet von innen und reflektiert in die umgebende Dunkelheit. Das Konzept der menschlichen Hand wurde gewählt, weil dieser Teil des menschlichen Skeletts eine der wenigen Strukturen ist, die sofort als einzigartig menschlich erkennbar sind. Die kunstvolle Ästhetik wurde aus funktionalen Designanforderungen abgeleitet: Das Gesamtgitter wurde für die biomimetische Osseointegration geschaffen; auf mikroskopischer Ebene ahmt das Gerüst die trabekuläre Struktur des Knochens nach, die Form, die Stammzellen dazu veranlasst, zu Knochenzellen zu werden. Die ausgeprägte gelbe Farbe der Skulptur war erforderlich, um sie in einem biologisch abbaubaren, biokompatiblen Material so detailliert in 3D zu drucken. Obwohl diese spezifische Skulptur dazu bestimmt ist, außerhalb des Obwohl diese spezifische Skulptur dazu bestimmt ist, außerhalb des Körpers zu leben, deutet das Design darauf hin, dass zukünftige Versionen möglicherweise implantiert und in bestehende biologische Funktionen integriert werden könnten.

Kooperationen/Team: 

Bringing Bones to Life (video on Regenerative Reliquary)

 

Artist: Amy Karle
 

Film von: Charlie Nordstrom
Schnittassistenz: Blue Bergen

In diesem Film in der Reihenfolge ihres Erscheinens:
Amy Karle
Chris Venter
Brian Adzima
John Vericella

Musik:
"Eileen" von Lee Rosevere
"Ones Left Behind" von Ketsa
"Durch Mauern sehen" von Anitek
Erhältlich auf Free Music Archive - freemusicarchive.org

Unter CC by Lizenz - Attribution Noncommercial 4.0 International

 

Dieses Projekt wurde mit der großzügigen Unterstützung von Autodesk, dem Pier 9 Artist in Residence Programm von Autodesk, der California Academy of Sciences, Exploratorium: The Museum of Science, Art and Human Perception und The Bone Room.