PERFECT BODY

Opening in the frame of contemporary art in graz

Laufzeit: 

13/05/2022 to 29/07/2022

Öffnungszeiten: 

In the frame of contemporary art in graz

Friday, 13th May 2022, 5 - 9pm

Saturday, 14th May 2022: 11am - 7ppm

Sunday, 15th May 2022: 11am - 5pm

 

Tuesday - Friday

2 - 7pm and by appointment

 

Eröffnung: 

Friday, 13. May 2022 - 17:00

Termine: 

Installationen: 

cesc-medien-kunst-labor2022_marioklingemann

We believe in the possibility of an incalculable number of human transformations and declare in all seriousness that wings sleep in the flesh of man. [F.T. Marinetti]

 

In keeping with the ideas and promises of Futurism, Marinetti still envisages predominantly positive things when he writes about the technical possibilities of bodily extensions and expansions. Today, it is above all the media productions on internet platforms that, in the course of obsessive optimisation efforts and permanent (self-)measurements, blind us to the status change of the body to object, to capital.

We train, repair, rehabilitate, model, beautify and mechanise our bodies through cosmetics, fitness programmes, supplements and medicines, surgical interventions, prostheses, implants, computer-brain interfaces and other technical enhancements. The effort and the results are constantly being recorded by a wide variety of programmes and applications, and the data is made readily available to the data-processing industries. Under their influence, the pressure to invest in our "body capital" in a self-responsible way is increasing, non-compliance is met with sanctions. The interventions have long since also affected our cognition and our emotion. Michel Foucault's finding about the reciprocal relationship between the usefulness and compliance of the body in a politics of constraints is being put into practice today as corporate politics: the human body enters into a machinery of exploitation that penetrates, dissects and reassembles it.

We should be aware of who is pursuing what interests and who is reaping the greatest profits from all the beautiful and new possibilities of optimising and perfecting the body when the view of the changes in our body, our thoughts and emotions is softened by the filters of fascination and erotic attraction.

cesc-medien-kunst-labor2022_marioklingemann

Wir glauben an die Möglichkeit einer unabsehbaren Zahl menschlicher Verwandlungen und erklären in vollem Ernst, daß im Fleisch des Menschen Flügel schlafen. [F.T. Marinetti]

Installationen

 
 

Ganz im Sinne der Ideen und Verheissungen des Futurismus, wähnt Marinetti noch überwiegend Positives, wenn er über die technischen Möglichkeiten körperlicher Erweiterungen und Ausweitungen schreibt. Heute sind es vor allem die medialen Inszenierungen auf den Internet-Plattformen, die im Zuge der obsessiven Optimierungsbestrebungen und permanenten (Selbst-)Vermessungen den Blick auf die Statusveränderung des Körpers zum Objekt, zum Kapital blenden.

 

Wir trainieren, reparieren, rehabilitieren, modellieren, verschönern und technisieren unseren Körper durch Kosmetik, Fitnessprogramme, Präparate und Medikamente, chirurgische Eingriffe, Prothesen, Implantate, Computer-Brain-Interfaces und andere technische Erweiterungen. Der Aufwand und die Ergebnisse werden dabei ständig von verschiedensten Programmen und Anwendungen erfasst, die Daten den datenverarbeitenden Industrien bereitwillig zur Verfügung gestellt. Unter deren Einfluss steigt der Druck, eigenverantwortlich in unser „Körperkapital“ zu investieren, die Nichtbefolgung wird mit Sanktionen bedacht. Die Interventionen betreffen längst auch unsere Kognition und unsere Emotion. Der Befund Michel Foucaults über das wechselseitige Verhältnis von Nützlichkeit und Gefügigkeit des Körpers in einer Politik der Zwänge erfährt heute seine Praxis als Konzernpolitik: Der menschliche Körper geht in eine Verwertungsmaschinerie ein, die ihn durchdringt, zergliedert und wieder zusammensetzt.

 

Wer welche Interessen verfolgt und wer aus all den schönen und neuen Möglichkeiten der Optimierung und Perfektionierung des Körpers die grössten Gewinne lukriert, sollte uns gewahr sein, wenn der Blick auf die Veränderungen unseres Körpers, unserer Gedanken und Emotionen weichgezeichnet wird durch die Filter der Faszination und erotischen Anziehung.